Lent: To Demonstrate His Love for You and Me

Why Christ Suffered and Died – Reason #6: Because He Loved Me

“I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me” (Galatians 2:20).

“The death of Christ is not only the demonstration of God’s love (John 3:16), it is also the supreme expression of Christ’s own love for all who receive it as their treasure. The early witnesses who suffered most for being Christians were captured by this fact: Christ ‘loved me and gave himself for me’ (Galatians 2:20). They took the self-giving act of Christ’s sacrifice very personally. They said, ‘He loved me. He gave himself for me.’”
(John Piper, Fifty Reasons Why Jesus Came to Die [Wheaton: Crossway, 2004] 30).

*****

The rest of the above referenced book can be downloaded for free as a PDF. This book makes a great devotional for daily Lenten meditations.

Leave a Reply

