Lent: More Than His Hands Were Nailed to the Cross

Why Christ Suffered and Died – Reason #7: To Cancel The Record of Debt

“And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross” (Colossians 2:13–14).

“There is no salvation by balancing the records. There is only salvation by canceling records. The record of our bad deeds (including our defective good deeds), along with the just penalties that each deserves, must be blotted out—not balanced. This is what Christ suffered and died to accomplish.”
(John Piper,
Fifty Reasons Why Jesus Came to Die [Wheaton: Crossway, 2004] 33).

*****

The rest of the above referenced book can be downloaded for free as a PDF. This book makes a great devotional for daily Lenten meditations.

For further meditation on our inability to meet the demands of the law, listen to this version of the classic hymn “Rock of Ages” by Augustus M. Toplady by Brooks Ritter while meditating on the following lyrics:

Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
Let me hide myself in Thee;
Let the water and the blood,
From Thy wounded side which flowed,
Be of sin the double cure;
Save from wrath and make me pure.

Not the labor of my hands
Can fulfill Thy law’s demands;
Could my zeal no respite know,
Could my tears forever flow,
All for sin could not atone;
Thou must save, and Thou alone.

Nothing in my hands I bring,
Simply to thy cross I cling;
Naked, come to Thee for dress;
Helpless look to Thee for grace;
Foul, I to the fountain fly;
Wash me, Savior, or I die.

While I draw this fleeting breath,
When mine eyes shall close in death,
When I soar to worlds unknown,
See Thee on Thy judgment throne,
Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
Let me hide myself in Thee.